Meet T1D Mom Ashley

Hi Everyone! My name is Ashley and I am the mom of Corey, Hayley and Carter. I am 29 and reside in southern New Hampshire with my husband of 8 years, Jonathan, our kids, of course, our 2 dogs, Sadie and Mya, and our 2 bearded dragons, Gus and Kirby. I graduated from Southern New Hampshire University Summa Cum Laude with a Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology, concentration in Child & Adolescent Development. Prior to Carter’s diagnosis, I had several job offers as an ABA (Applied Behavior Analysis) Therapist. When Carter’s sugar and lifestyle is better managed and he can attend preschool, I intend to get my Master’s degree and become a Board Certified Behavior Analyst. For now, I am a stay at home mom while my husband uses his lean, mean muscles to build and frame high-end houses in New Hampshire.

IMG_20180929_102852

I do everything at home from cooking and cleaning to budgeting, paying bills and playing taxi driver to Corey and Hayley, who are both in school full time. Our oldest, Corey, also does karate. Sitting isn’t really my thing… or ever an option in this busy household! I love to chat about my kids and diabetes and taking walks, going to the park and drinking iced coffee year round πŸ˜€ I’m probably the least low maintenance person you could ever talk to – I’m lucky if I get my hair done twice a year, my nails are now on years of neglect and I am guilty of the mommy-tail daily. Yoga pants and sweatpants are my thing – it doesn’t take much to make me happy! I love to connect with new mom or T1 parent friends and feel so blessed to have been welcomed into the T1D community with open arms and a lifetime of support and shoulders to cry on ❀